another blog: by kwok

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Some last words on the first day of September

Finally had a good long sleep. Still surprised I managed to pull through Monday with just 1.5hours of sleep. Haven’t done that since Chinese New Year years ago.

I am still browsing through all the goodies I got from students, friends and colleagues. Here’s a special mention to the cupcake from Ms Joy Tan:

DSC00099

I ate it straight after snapping it. It was really very sweet. It looked so…unreal!

The 2208 Report Card looks daunting (I have not yet done my Work Record that was due last Friday!) while the 1508 Journal is a good source of quotable quotes just in case I run out of them, and the 0408 Card reminded me again of my belt. There were a few more little gifts that look too nice to open. But a surprise was greetings from Catherine and Joanne, and Joji.

And on Saturday I finally used the pink Gatsby Rubber mud from 1508 last year. Maybe I applied too much of it. It is really sticky. It is certainly waterproof. It certainly gave my hair a lift.

With regard to lifting, in case some are still not sure, here’s just one reminder (the other tricks I have said them all before many times, if you are still panicky, leave me a Comment here):

(Yes. This is the moment that most of you who are still browsing this blog are waiting for…)

Synonyms used in other parts of the passage that are not directly relevant to the question or paragraph can be used, but as far as possible, use your own words. Note that this DOES NOT apply to Summary, which requires paraphrasing to be done all the time as far as possible.

Here are some more comments on T3P2A2 (lifting wasn’t closely watched, by the way):

For Q2, “seemingly endless catalogue” is accepted along with “seemingly endless”. Both are phrases. The former is a full noun phrase while the latter is an adjectival phrase, technically speaking.

For Q7, if only “aggression” or “violence” is mentioned, it is fine for this because the focus of the passage is on the exact same topic, plus the contextual clues given (eg: “grunts”). Of course a complete answer will encompass unity and aggression.

For Q6, your answer must encompass both the work domain and the home domain.

If you see the comment “good/very good” for a question, it means few people have answered that question correctly but you.

That’s all I have tonight!

PS: You should have also received a model AQ response to the CAM2007 paper (I gave one to each class). Keep it well.

September 2, 2009 - Posted by | e-learning, Reflect

No comments yet.

Leave a comment