another blog: by kwok

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wordz

I think my lecture yesterday was “boomz”. Oh well. I’m craving for “junk food”. “Drumlet” sounds delicious. All seems well, according to TIME, for Coke’s recession “boomlet”.

“Boomz” I say.

I think “boomz” is going to be a beautiful word, not because it was used by a Miss Singapore/Convict.

“Boomz” can be positive or negative, depending on the context. Sounds like a zwitterion.

I believe no one here knows it better. My arsenal of dictionaries have defended so many hatchlings over the years that I feel like Mother Che Goosevara.

“Boomz” has the potential of becoming a very powerful word, like the humble “lah” or the vulgar F-word.

F-1 saw the Crashgate cheats punished, and I wonder how Ms SgCon won the competition. Boomzgate?

Nixon would be proud of these similar developments around the world since Watergate in the 70’s.

I could feel enraged with the fact that she lacks the grey matters, and the character. But I think it is not a crime to be weak in the language when your “predisposition” (to borrow from Bourdieu) did not allow for it. Unfotunately, it has always been a crime in society.

I would like to believe that it is more dangerous to be pretentious in language. The times are achanging, and there’s usually no need to use fanciful terms when simpler synonyms exist, especially when you do not know the words well enough. “Whilst”, whilst it sounds posh and can be delightfully used if you have also been faithful to formal British English, will kill you for the Zee in some words. Recognize!

I’m not sure if anyone is hoping that “boomz” be seen as a Uniquely Singapore word.

But trust me on the impact of boomz. Boomz!

I’m gonna get, gonna get get the Black Eyed Peas down for a Boomz Boomz Pow featuring Will Smith who will Boomz Shake the Room for a Post F-1 Boomz Concert this weekend.

Boonz, signing off.

September 25, 2009 - Posted by | literary expression, Reflect

No comments yet.

Leave a comment